Various Data Center Tiers

Posted on Dec 22, 2016 by Luis

Data centers are divided into four classifications, also referred to as tiers, depending on the topology design of each of the infrastructure. The Uptime Institute invented the classification system and set it as a benchmark standard that serves as a requirement or guideline in building a proper and adequate data center’s infrastructure, the infamous four tiers along with the explanation can be seen below:

·         Tier 1

This simple data center is a basic and common server room that is typically composed of a single path that is used for the distribution of cooling and power.

·         Tier 2

Similar to Tier 1, Tier 2 is composed of just a single path for both cooling and power distribution, the difference is this Tier 2 has and added redundant components – something that is Tier 1 lacks of.

·         Tier 3

This type of data center owns multiple paths with only one is active at a time in order to serve various IT equipment as well as to distribute cooling and power, with dual powered IT equipment that is completely compatible with the architecture’s topology and maintainable infrastructures.

·         Tier 4

In Tier 4 all equipment, both heater and chiller, that serve as its cooling systems are dual powered and work independently – with proper ventilation as well as air conditioning or HVAC systems. Infrastructure with electrical (or power) storage that is fault tolerant.

Tier 3 data centre is undoubtedly the next best thing a company may get. While there is no question about the superiority and reliability of Tier 4 data center, for many corporations and organizations with sensitive data and activity that requires maximum accessibility and also secured facility, Tier 3 is more than enough for most of their IT endeavors. The various redundancy equipment as well as the multiple circulation paths to distribute power that a Tier 3 data center offers make it a highly productive, yet cost-efficient option.



  • Login or Register to post comments